top of page

S'mores Cookies


I've been all about the S'mores recently. Last weekend I went on a dental student retreat where we made S'mores over a tiny barbecue grill. The taste of honey graham crackers with creamy Hershey's chocolate and a perfectly toasted marshmallow - crunchy and caramel on the outside, hot and gooey on the inside - never fails to to ignite warm childhood camping memories. I can't say the S'mores I made last weekend fit that description exactly, but it did give me a strong impulse to make S'mores. Of course I justified indoor S'mores by making it in cookie form. You've probably been dreaming about this for a while - all the rustic outdoor goodness of classic S'mores delivered in a compact hipster-ass cookie.

In other news, I've officially survived 3 weeks of 2nd year! In short, anatomy lab is blegh per usual, lectures are meh, and pre-clinical lab is aiite. I'm quickly figuring out how poor my current hand-eye coordination is, but I'm more excited than discouraged about getting better. Last weekend, I met a lot of awesome new people and got to hang out with some of my favorite old ones at the dental retreat. On the bus ride there, I got addicted to a mobile game called Alpaca World HD+ and have been playing it everyday since. Get itttt. Just do it. Alpacas for lifee.

Last but not least, I got into a contemporary dance company for working professionals and grad students called Urbanity Underground!!! I thought my dance life was going to be completely over after college but thankfully I've found a studio I love in Boston and will have more opportunities to dance this year than last year. :)

So basically, life has been treating me well recently. Without further adieu, cookiessss. Happy Munching! ^_^

S’mores Cookies

Makes 15

Ingredients:

1 sleeve graham crackers, ground into fine crumbs (~1 cup crumbs)

½ cup all-purpose flour, lightly spooned and leveled

½ tsp. baking powder

⅛ tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. salt

½ cup unsalted butter, softened

2 tbsps. granulated sugar

2 tbsps. dark brown sugar, packed

1 large egg, room temperature

½ cup semi-sweet mini-chocolate chips

15 regular-size marshmallows

Preparation:

Whisk together the crushed graham crackers, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a mixing bowl until well-combined and no lumps remain.

In a separate mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in the egg. Add dry ingredients and mix until well-combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Cover tightly with plastic wrap and chill dough at least 2 hours and up to 3 days in the refrigerator.

Preheat oven to 350˚ F and place rack in center. Line a heavy-duty aluminum standard-size cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Shape dough into 2 tbsp. size balls and place about 2 inches apart on cookie sheet. Bake in preheated oven ~12 minutes, or until edges just begin to brown.

Remove from oven, press one marshmallow gently on top of each cookie while still warm. Move rack to top of oven and preheat broiler to low. Broil the cookies until the marshmallows are caramelized on top, turning the sheet frequently for even browning.

Transfer to wire rack to cool. Serve warm or at room temperature.


bottom of page