top of page

Roasted Golden Beets and Garlic Dip with Baguette Crisps (Digital Photography Final Project 1 of 3)


I got creative license to photograph whatever I wanted to for my final digital photography project; so of course, I chose to capture food. I decided to make a magazine-like spread of my cooking process, from market to table. I wrote down a few recipes while I was at it too, and I'm sharing them here. I was too lazy to re-edit photos so I'm just posting the spreads from my project.

By the way, I graduated from college and will be attending dental school this fall! Awww yeahhh, no longer "pre." ;)

Happy munching!

Roasted Golden Beets and Garlic Dip

Makes about 2 ½ cups dip

Ingredients:

1 ¼ lbs golden beets, 4-6 medium, scrubbed

1 head garlic

3 tbsps. extra virgin olive oil, divided

⅓ cup plain yogurt

1 tsp. salt

1 tbsp. honey

½ tsp. ground cumin

¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro + additional for garnish

Baguette crisps, for serving

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400° F. Prick beets with a fork and wrap with foil. Slice the top off the head of garlic to expose the cloves. Place garlic in foil, drizzle the top with 1 tbsp. olive oil, and wrap completely. Place beets and garlic on a baking tray. Roast for about 1 hour in preheated oven until fork tender. Allow to cool to room temperature. Peel and roughly chop beets. Remove garlic from skin and discard the skin. Puree beets and garlic in a food processor with yogurt, salt, honey, remaining 2 tbsps. olive oil until smooth. Add cilantro and pulse to combine. Garnish with additional cilantro and serve with baguette crisps.

Baguette Crisps

Ingredients:

Fresh baguette

Extra virgin olive oil

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400° C. Cut baguette into ½ ‘’ slices and place in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet. Brush both sides with olive oil. Bake in preheated oven for 6 minutes and flip the slices. Bake about another 6 minutes, until edges are golden brown. Serve warm with the golden beet dip.

bottom of page